The Sixth Chakra: Perception

Ajna, "to perceive," third eye chakra

Ajna, meaning “to perceive,” is also known as the third eye chakra and is located between the eyebrows, just above the bridge of the nose. It is represented by a deep indigo blue and a lotus with two petals. Ajna is thought to be the point at which the two nadis (energy channels), Ida and Pingala, merge becoming the center that controls all higher mental activities including psychic, emotional, and mental intelligence, and insight. Someone with a healthy and balanced sixth chakra would have a keen imagination and intellect, strong intuition, and deep spiritual awareness. It is related to the pineal gland which produces the hormones serotonin and melatonin.


May I see and perceive clearly on every level and seek only the truth.

Yoga Poses to Activate this Chakra:

Seated head to knee
Side seated angle

Yoga Practices to Activate this Chakra:

Mudra: Hakini
Mantra: Om
Meditation: Third Eye Meditation
Yoga Path: Raja (Meditation)


Comments 5

  1. are these yoga asanas correct? They’re the same as those for 1st chakra and I am having trouble figuring out how these pertain to perception/the 3rd eye.

  2. mikilyn000 – yes they were incorrect. I’ve fixed the list, thank you for pointing that out.

  3. I had my attunement done by my Reki Master and I saw the color indigo and symbols.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *